This post may contain affiliate links.

16 sailing magazines that pay for articles

Hey all you writers out there! The next couple of posts are all about getting paid to write. Today, I’m including a list of 16 sailing magazines that pay for articles to get you started, since, as they say, it’s always good to write what you know.

There are definitely more than 16 sailing magazines that pay for submissions, but these are the ones that I was able to get the submission guidelines AND the rates that they offer for articles and stories.

My next post will be about how to greatly increase your chances of getting published – things that most writers overlook, and what sets apart the amateurs. I’ll be sending emails with more writing tips as well as writing jobs that I find out to my private writers list, so if you want to get on that list, you’ll need to sign up here, because I won’t be putting that info on the blog, or including it on the blog’s regular email list, so you’ll want to sign up for both if you want all content (but don’t worry, I won’t bombard you with emails on either list).

The #1 Writing Tool


Cruising Outpost Magazine – cruisingoutpost.com


Cruising World – cruisingworld.com

  • $25 – $200 for shorts, and $300 – $1000 for technical or feature articles
  • Submission guidelines (read carefully)

Good Old Boat – goodoldboat.com


Latitude 38 – latitude38.com


Maine Boats, Homes & Harbors – maineboats.com

Description: We are the magazine of the coast of Maine with a strong focus on boating. We occasionally venture northeast into Nova Scotia or south into the rest of New England, but generally only if there is a strong Maine connection inherent in the story.


Ocean Navigator – oceannavigator.com


Pacific Yachting – pacificyachting.com

In the pages of Pacific Yachting, powerboaters and sailors share a common interest in recreational boating in B.C. and the Pacific Northwest.


Passagemaker – passagemaker.com

PassageMaker Magazine is a publication covering all aspects of trawlers and ocean motorboats, and welcomes contributions from around the world. Our lifestyle focus addresses the realities of cruising under power and passagemaking.


Porthole Cruise Magazine – porthole.com


Practical Sailor – practical-sailor.com


SAIL Magazine – sailmagazine.com


Sailing Breezes – sailingbreezes.com

Your midwest and Great Lakes sailing source


Sailing Magazine – sailingmagazine.net


Southern Boating – southernboating.com

Southern Boating is dedicated to exploring the boating lifestyle and values the contributions of freelance writers. We cover boat reviews, cruising destinations, charter experiences, live-aboard lifestyle, boating rendezvous, boat shows, and generally anything that is related to the boating lifestyle.

  • $100 – $600
  • Submission guidelines
  • Helpful notes:  “We rarely publish first-person accounts of cruising. We look for targeted pitches with specific angles.”

Southwinds Magazine – southwindsmagazine.com

  • $25 – $400
  • Submission guidelines
  • It’s a good idea to inquire about payment amount during submission process, as they have a lot of writers that submit content for free.

WoodenBoat – woodenboat.com

WoodenBoat is the bi-monthly magazine for wooden boat owners, builders, and designers. Unlike any other periodical in our field, we are devoted exclusively to the design, building, care, preservation, and use of wooden boats, both commercial and pleasure, old and new, sail and power.
  • $250-300 per 1000 words, but they pay $5-25 for short news clippings or news blurbs
  • Submission guidelines