DISCLAIMER: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning if you click a link and choose to purchase, I get a small commission at no additional cost to you (sometimes even saving you money!). This helps me keep this blog afloat. I only promote products that I know and love, or that I think you'd love!


This post is about getting paid to write, specifically, for sailing magazines. I’m including a list of 16 sailing magazines that pay for articles to get you started.

There are definitely more than 16 sailing magazines that pay for submissions, but these are the ones that I was able to get the submission guidelines AND the rates that they offer for articles and stories.

Read my last two posts, What Magazine Editors Want and Keys to Getting Published in Magazines to greatly increase your chances of getting published — things that most writers overlook, and what sets apart the writers who are getting paid from the amateurs.

Also, I want to mention before I get into the magazines that DO pay, that there’s one sailing magazine that has developed a reputation for NOT paying, and that’s Blue Water Sailing Magazine. I don’t have experience myself with this magazine, but know MANY professional writers who never got paid. Don’t write for them, even if the editor (George Day) tells you he will, because chances are, he won’t. You’ve been warned. 


Cruising Outpost Magazine – cruisingoutpost.com


Cruising World – cruisingworld.com

  • $25 – $200 for shorts, and $300 – $1000 for technical or feature articles
  • Submission guidelines (read carefully)

Good Old Boat – goodoldboat.com


Latitude 38 – latitude38.com


Maine Boats, Homes & Harbors – maineboats.com

Description: We are the magazine of the coast of Maine with a strong focus on boating. We occasionally venture northeast into Nova Scotia or south into the rest of New England, but generally only if there is a strong Maine connection inherent in the story.


Ocean Navigator – oceannavigator.com


Pacific Yachting – pacificyachting.com

In the pages of Pacific Yachting, powerboaters and sailors share a common interest in recreational boating in B.C. and the Pacific Northwest.


Passagemaker – passagemaker.com

PassageMaker Magazine is a publication covering all aspects of trawlers and ocean motorboats, and welcomes contributions from around the world. Our lifestyle focus addresses the realities of cruising under power and passagemaking.


Porthole Cruise Magazine – porthole.com


Practical Sailor – practical-sailor.com


SAIL Magazine – sailmagazine.com


Sailing Breezes – sailingbreezes.com

Your midwest and Great Lakes sailing source


Sailing Magazine – sailingmagazine.net


Southern Boating – southernboating.com

Southern Boating is dedicated to exploring the boating lifestyle and values the contributions of freelance writers. We cover boat reviews, cruising destinations, charter experiences, live-aboard lifestyle, boating rendezvous, boat shows, and generally anything that is related to the boating lifestyle.

  • $100 – $600
  • Submission guidelines
  • Helpful notes:  “We rarely publish first-person accounts of cruising. We look for targeted pitches with specific angles.”

Southwinds Magazine – southwindsmagazine.com

  • $25 – $400
  • Submission guidelines
  • It’s a good idea to inquire about payment amount during submission process, as they have a lot of writers that submit content for free.

WoodenBoat – woodenboat.com

WoodenBoat is the bi-monthly magazine for wooden boat owners, builders, and designers. Unlike any other periodical in our field, we are devoted exclusively to the design, building, care, preservation, and use of wooden boats, both commercial and pleasure, old and new, sail and power.

Now that you have a list of sailing magazines that pay writers for articles, you can get to writing, submitting, and getting paid!

101 ways to make money from almost anywhere

Get my FREE Download:101 Ways To Make Money From Anywhere

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Get my FREE Room By Room Downsizing Checklist

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Get my FREE Email Course:Launch Your Profitable Blog

Woohoo! Now go check your email to confirm!

SignUp Below + Get My FREE Glossary of Terms Every Writer Should Know

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share205
Pin102